Paris Bedroom Made for a Princess

This is one of my favorite projects!

My husband loves for the kids to have special unique rooms.  When we moved into our new house a few years back, the kids lost their special rooms and were stuck with old normal rooms for a while…poor kids 😦  For my stepdaughters 10th birthday she asked for her bedroom to be done.  So we got to work brain storming.  We knew she wanted a swinging chair, and that she loved Paris.  So I got to work.

I decided to paint the room light pink with sparkles…this is amazing and I would use this again,super simple you add packets of sparkles in your paint.  I used two packets.   It was very shimmery instead of over powering glitter.

When designing the kids rooms I always think openness and functional.  One of her favorite things to do in her room is dance around, I wanted to make sure her room was open enough for her to dance to her hearts content.  This presented a problem because there wasn’t a ton of wall space for the desk/vanity she wanted and a dresser so I decided on a loft bed with a dresser underneath to give more space. I knew I wanted to do something one of a kind so  I found the furniture online for a great price.  I hand painted all of her furniture.  I rolled most of it and used a stencil cut with my Silhouette Cameo  for all the design elements on the faces.  I also replaced the knobs with a bit of bling!

Next my husband made his way to the attic to get the chair ready to hang.  We cut the legs off the chair to let it swing freely.  I did a little work on the edges to give it some character, and my husband did all of the rope detail.

I found a vanity at the thrift store and got to painting.  I just love the vertical striping on the side.

Then my husband had to brilliant idea to make canopies over the windows.  Here is the link to see what we did exactly. This made the room extra special.  I just love how it turned out.dsc_0674dsc_0673

The canopies that made the room complete. dsc_0672

This bed was a labor of love.  I spent a lot of time here. dsc_0671dsc_0669dsc_0670dsc_0668dsc_0667

We found this cute little mannequin at a store that was closing.  My stepdaughter changes the outfits each season and we are just amazed at what she puts together. I found this cute little garden drink cart at the thrift store as well…it fit perfect for extra storage. dsc_0666dsc_0665dsc_0664

I love this cute mirror on the back of her door. I didn’t want to do anything permanent so I used an over the door wreath hook and a command hook for the bottom. It works perfect.   I used my Silhouette Cameo to cut this vinyldsc_0662

Her hanging chair! dsc_0661

dsc_0676

I also did this cute vinyl on her door.  It says the room of Tyler in French!

I think this room is exactly what I would have wanted as a kid!

Leave a Reply

