Baseball Cake #3

Here is my last cake.  Click here to see #1 and #2.  This was a last minute cake that I decided to make the night before.

This was by far the most simple cake out of the three. I love how it turned out!

 thumb_DSC_4410_1024

I used the ball cake pan again to make half a ball. I got store bought frosting (I normally don’t).  I have seen this technique done before but was a little worried how it was going to work on a rounded surface.  (Note: I always freeze my cakes before frosting).

thumb_DSC_4411_1024

Warm your frosting up in the microwave.  I did 30 second increments till it was runny but not hot. Then I started to pour moving in circular motions.  You will use the whole can of frosting.  I did two coats.  After 15 minutes I scooped up the leftovers on the mat and microwaved it and poured again.  I was so impressed with how well this worked.

thumb_DSC_4414_1024

For the cupcakes I used the same microwaved frosting to dip the cupcakes in.  This worked really well to give a smooth surface to put the red laces on.  I had some leftover green frosting from my previous cakes that I used to put “grass” around the big ball.  I love how this one turned out.

Leave a Reply

