Fourth of July Rag banner

DSC_4017

I wanted to do a cute banner for my fireplace that was Fourth of July themed.

I knew I wanted to do a “rag” banner so I went to the clearance fabric section at Hobby Lobby.

They had a red star pattern, and a navy blue polka dot pattern.  What are the chances?
DSC_3982DSC_3987

Next I got my rotary cutter and mat out and decided I wanted my strips to be 1 inch.  Unfortunately my blade had a dull spot 😦 This step ended up taking a little longer because I had to cut pieces that didn’t get cut with scissors. I had already started and didn’t want to go to the store to buy a new one.

DSC_3990

Here are my 1 inch strips.

DSC_3993

Then I got my twine out and measured it against my mantel.  I just tied a knot around the string.

 DSC_3996

Looks pretty cute over my fireplace!

DSC_4000

Leave a Reply

