Cruise DIY Projects

Our family loves going on cruises.  So for my birthday/summer vacation we decided to go on a cruise.  I love having something to plan for, so I decided to do a few projects.  I always feel like we are dehydrated, they have plenty of areas with cups but the cups are always so SMALL!  Why?  This time I decided I wanted to take water bottles with us.  With this in mind I headed out to the Dollar store I found some cute fun colored bottles. If the kids set them down and we lose them… they only cost $1!  As you will be able to tell, I LOVE MY SILHOUETTE CAMEO.  I decided to give these cheap bottles  a little makeover!

20150514_162602 20150514_162611

I decided to do our first initial with our name below and then an anchor for us girls and a wheel for the boys. I used permanent vinyl on these and it worked out so great.  We didn’t loose them so we can use them on our next cruise, yay! Bonus I was able to put them on the top rack of the dishwasher.

The next project I had in mind was a matching tank top for my step daughter and I.  Again I used my Silhouette Cameo and cut an anchor out of fabric.  This was my first experience with cutting fabric on my machine. I was so impressed!! I wish I would have taken pictures of the process 😦  I did a little zigzag stitch along the edge (it takes patience).  I put a bow on the back and it turned out super cute! I found the shirts for less than $4 each and picked a 1/4 yard of fabric up for a few dollars.

20150506_170757 20150506_170811

With us girls matching, I thought the boys should too! Man do I have a patient husband 🙂  So I started brainstorming what they might wear!  I thought of what my step son’s favorite thing about a cruise is….the BUFFET!  So I decided to make a shirt that said “Where’s the Buffet?”.  I used my silhouette cameo again (see I told you I love this machine).  I used freezer paper and fabric paint this time.  This worked better than I hoped!  It is becoming a new favorite method.  Again sorry for no progress pictures.  First I cut a stencil out of the freezer paper. Freezer paper temporarily adheres to fabric with a warm iron then you fabric paint and peel the paper off when dry.  The best part was I bought the velveteen paint and when you iron it it puffs up and gives a little dimension to the paint, who knew? Boy did they look cute in their matching shirts!

20150520_125403

One thought on “Cruise DIY Projects

  1. Pingback: My Current obsession…. MONOGRAMS | Redhead Stepmom

Leave a Reply

